Reverb Gamers Day 5

January 5, 2012 at 4:38 pm (Reverb Gamers) ()

Have you ever introduced a child to gaming, or played a game with a young person?

I started playing when I was a kid myself. I was ten when I ran and read my first RPG and I played a lot of games with other kids when I was younger. My only experience of gaming with a kid in my adult years was one game at MACE. It was a scifi board/RPG where we were all playing strange alien creatures. A guy was there with his son who wasn’t sure he wanted to play. We convinced him and he chose a giant (turtle?) alien to play that had a lot of defense and could rip characters arms off. We ended up transporting him over to the ship that was disableing our ship and let him keep their crew busy while another of our crew disabled their disabeling ray. We managed to barely escape with our lives (in fact I think my character died of radiation poisoning in a Spock-like attempt to keep our ship from exploding) and the game was a blast.

How is gaming with kids different than gaming with adults?

I don’t think it really is. They may be a bit harder to keep on task than an adult but no worse than some. As gamers I think we are all really kids at heart and playing these games help us remember the joy of play.

Leave a Reply

