Reverb Gamers Day 10

January 10, 2012 at 8:46 am (Reverb Gamers) ()

Have you ever played a character originally from a book/TV/movie?

This is an interesting question because though the answer is yes the game I was playing at the time was far from ordinary. The character was Urza the Planeswalker from Magic: the Gathering. My friend Stewart and I had played a few RPGs in the past (Star Wars at my house and D&D at his) and we both loved the game Magic. The problem was none of the games we knew then could really handle the sort of power that Planeswalkers wielded. So we made up our own system! It made very little sense and we more or less changed rules on the fly but the stories we told were epic.

How did the character change from the original as you played?

For one thing my Urza didn’t brood as much as the Urza from the books brooded (it would be impossible to play Urza and never brood). My Urza was obsessed with the son he never really knew rather than the brother he never really liked. And My Urza didn’t ignore his Phyrexian companion at all times.

I guess I could have put this in my favorite characters post but I honestly forgot all about this game until I sat down to write this post. Thinking about it more, I still don’t think there is a game out there that would let me play a Planeswalker. That may have to go on my list for this year.

Leave a Reply

