Reverb Gamers Day 21

January 21, 2012 at 11:17 am (Reverb Gamers) ()

What’s the best bribe you’ve ever given (or received as) a GM? What did you get (give) for it?

Huh, the further along this month gets the more I wonder at just how dysfunctional most gaming groups are. Each question, by itself has made me think and for more than a few I’ve had to really reach back into my gaming history to find stories to tell. As a whole though, if these are experiences that all groups should have, the general feeling I’ve had is that I’m glad to no longer play games that way. Bribing the GM is one of those behaviors that tells me that the social contract at the table is completely broken. Open and honest communication is what every group needs to succeed and bribery, to me, is evidence that the lines of communication broke down a long time ago. Bribing your GM is a desperate, end of the line maneuver that is last ditch effort to make the GM see that you have a need within the game that isn’t being met.

Unless you are playing the dWayne system. But then you are not so much bribing the GM as you are bribing the dice.

Leave a Reply

